Board of Health

The Laurel County Board of Health is comprised of twelve (12) members appointed by the Secretary of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services from a list of nominees. Members serve a two (2) year term and may be reappointed if nominated. Local Boards of Health requirements are governed by  902 KAR 8:150.

Laurel County Board of Health Meetings

The Laurel County Board of Health meets quarterly at the Laurel County Health Department, 525 Whitley Street, London KY 40741 on the lower level in the classroom. Meetings begin promptly at 7:30am. Our next scheduled meeting is Thursday, November 18, 2021.

If any of the meetings are cancelled, a notice will be placed on the website prior to the regular meeting time.

Laurel County Board of Health Members

David Westerfield, County Judge Executive, Chairman
Elmer Cunnagin
Ken Wilson
Dr. Matt Magee
Heather Morgan, RN
Dr. Shelley Stanko
Danny Smith
Chris Herren, DMD
Dr. Marion Pennington

About Kentucky Local Board of Health Toolkit

The Toolkit is an educational resource for Local Boards of Health in Kentucky.  It provides guidance on the role a Local Board of Health plays in the health of its community.  The Toolkit includes information on the Kentucky Revised Statutes, Kentucky Administrative Regulations, and Public Health Accreditation.  It also includes a public health curriculum and links to state and national partner organizations, among other guidance documents.